Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Death Guard Question
Keef Von Keith
post Jul 17 2017, 11:18 AM
Post #1


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 2,376
Joined: 20-November 04
From: Ingleburn
Member No.: 295



I was looking at some battle reports on You Tube , and some Death Guard lists have a Helldrake in the there ?
How can the Death Guard have a helldrake ?


--------------------
"A sense of generosity under heavy fire is an admirable quality and the mark of a gentleman."
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tom
post Jul 17 2017, 11:21 AM
Post #2


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,123
Joined: 21-November 06
From: Eltham
Member No.: 3,405



The army can have the Keyword 'Heretic Astartes' or 'Chaos' and can include Death Guard and non-Death Guard units.

The Heldrake isn't allowed to take the "Death Guard" Legion Keyword though.
All this means is he can't benefit from buffs that specify the Legion, you can still take him.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Keef Von Keith
post Jul 17 2017, 11:25 AM
Post #3


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 2,376
Joined: 20-November 04
From: Ingleburn
Member No.: 295



OK , so the plagues marines and poxwalkers still count as troop choices and you can take a Helldrake ?




--------------------
"A sense of generosity under heavy fire is an admirable quality and the mark of a gentleman."
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tom
post Jul 17 2017, 11:29 AM
Post #4


Member
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 1,123
Joined: 21-November 06
From: Eltham
Member No.: 3,405



QUOTE(Keef Von Keith @ Jul 17 2017, 11:25 AM) *

OK , so the plagues marines and poxwalkers still count as troop choices and you can take a Helldrake ?



Yep.
The Plague Marines just have to have the "Death Guard" Legion Keyword to be troops. The rest of your army can share a different Keyword.

Main difference is that if you have say, a Death Guard Demon Prince, its Prince of Chaos rule will only affect the Death Guard models, and not the Helldrake.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
morsla
post Jul 17 2017, 01:07 PM
Post #5


Paintmaster Mod
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 11,081
Joined: 16-November 04
From: Kensington, Melbourne
Member No.: 3



Also, if you're purchasing models for the army at the moment, bear in mind that when faction-specific Codex books come out they're likely to have more advantages for detachments that share a narrow keyword (i.e. Death Guard) instead of the broader Chaos one.

The Marine book is due out in a couple of weeks, and will reintroduce Chapter Tactics that will only apply if the whole detachment shares the same chapter. You'll still be able to take mix-and-match Imperium or Chaos armies, but the opportunity cost for doing so will become steeper.


--------------------
[www.morsla.net] [WATT] [40k | Burn the Witch! | Alpha Legion | Harlequins | Inaryss Eldar] | Deathwatch]
[Alkemy | Clan Walosi | Jade Triad | Avalon] [WM | Mercenaries | Cryx | River dock] [Hordes | Skorne]
[Infinity | Nomads] [Wrath of Kings | Goritsi] [WHQ | Silver Tower] [Epic | Iyanden]
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Chaplain_Fortis
post Jul 17 2017, 04:38 PM
Post #6


Authority Bared
*

Group: Veteran Members
Posts: 101
Joined: 10-January 08
From: Melbourne
Member No.: 4,901



Easiest way to do it would be to have a death guard detachment that has all of your death guard stuff in it and then take either an auxillary support detachment which can just have the flyer alone in it (at the cost of -1CP) or take a patrol detachment with the flyer, a troop choice and a character and then whatever else you need extra off faction slots for. The book suggests 3 detachments at 100/2000 points or 2 at 75/1500 so I'd be surprised if it's not the way tournaments are played as well. Although with 40k in this country nothing would surprise me.


--------------------
Existential memes for nihilistic teens
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2017 - 05:17 PM